Paige Jedlicka- Florida Coastal School of Law

1. Please tell us about yourself

I am 27 years old. In undergrad I studied behavioral science at Wilmington University. I grew up in Elkton, Maryland, but spent a large portion of my life in Wilmington, Delaware.

2. What first made you want to go to law school?

I decided to go to law school much later than most people I know. I attending a few trials when I was almost finished with my degree, and realized I did not want to do what I thought I did all along, but actually was interested in practicing the law.

3. Why did you choose your law school?

I chose Florida Coastal School of Law because it was a smaller, close-knit school, where the people were very friendly. As this was similar to my undergraduate school and the areas I’ve lived, I found this comforting, especially since I was moving so far from home.

4. What is one thing you wish you knew about law school or the admissions process ahead of time?

There are plenty of things I wish I knew sooner when applying to law school, but one of the most important things I think to learn and get used to early on is the importance of networking and putting yourself out there to meet people and go for opportunities. It took me a long time to break out of my shell, and had I know that a large part of being in this line of work is networking and building relationships, I would have started to prepare myself more ahead of time.

5. What student organizations or activities are you involved in?

I am a member of my school’s law review, moot court, and mock trial teams. I am the secretary of the Phi Delta Phi Legal Honor Society. I am a student ambassador for the school. And I am the ABA Rep as well.

6. Discuss any exciting jobs or internships you’ve had while in law school.

I have been lucky to have many great internship opportunities throughout my law school career. To name a few: I was a law clerk for a personal injury law firm representing plaintiffs, I worked at the local Legal Aid in the intake department, I interned for the Federal Defender’s Office and the regional conflict counsel, and I am currently interning for a Magistrate Judge at the Federal Courthouse.

7. What do you like to do in your spare time?

When I have some free time, I like to spend some time at the beach or check out whatever free festival is happening in town that weekend.

8.What is your dream career?

It is my ultimate goal and dream job to work for the FBI one day.