Taylor Mangan-UCLA School of Law

1. Please tell us about yourself.
Age: 25
Undergrad Institution: University of Colorado Boulder
Undergrad Major: Philosophy with a minor in political science and certification in LGBT studies.
Hometown: Boulder, Colorado

2. What first made you want to go to law school?
After college, I took a year off and worked as a legal assistant to a special education attorney.  After seeing the injustice in our education system and how the law could be used to impact people’s lives directly, I knew I wanted to be an attorney.

3. Why did you choose your law school?
The UCLA School of Law was an easy choice for me. The school’s David J. Epstein Program in Public Interest Law and Policy is an incredibly innovative and successful public interest program that I was thankfully accepted into.  Combined with UCLA’s resident think tank on sexual orientation and gender identity law and policy (the Williams Institute), UCLA was the clear choice.

4. What is one thing you wish you knew about law school or the admissions process ahead of time?
How expensive and inaccessible a legal education actually is.

5. What student organizations or activities are you involved in?
I am President of UCLA’s Moot Court Honors Program, and I serve as Chief Articles Editor for both the Disability Law Journal and the Dukeminier Awards Journal.  Additionally, I am the VP of Internals for the First Generation Law Students Association and work on the Admissions and Outreach Committee for the Epstein program.  Last year, I was the co-chair of OUTLaw (our LGBTQIA organization) and Disability Law Society.  Currently, I am competing in the 2019 Lowell Milken Institute-Sandler Prize for New Entrepreneurs.  I volunteer with a few organizations, too.

6. Discuss any exciting jobs or internships you’ve had while in law school.
Last semester, I was a judicial extern to Judge Gutierrez on the United States District Court for the Central District of California.  Over the course of my externship, I was able to review cases, edit motions, attend hearings, and even draft orders.  The experience was incredibly valuable, and I could not be more grateful for the opportunity.

7. What do you like to do in your spare time?
In my spare time, I love to be as active as possible.  My interests include boxing, yoga, hiking, camping, and traveling.  I am also very dedicated to a number of LGBT causes, so I try to volunteer with organizations like Lambda Legal as much as possible.

8. What is your dream career?
My dream career is still rather nebulous!  While I am not exactly sure what a dream career looks like at this time, I would love to be able to create positive change for LGBTQIA individuals in some form.  Gaining litigation experience is my main priority for right now.