Sara Schroeder- WashU Law


1. Please tell us about yourself.

Age: 24

Hometown: Carbondale, IL

Undergrad: University of Missouri, Majored in Political Science and Psychology

2. What first made you want to go to law school?

My dad was an attorney, and I was always interested in the work he did. He did a lot of criminal defense work, and I saw how our justice system can be incredibly unjust, particularly for minorities and those without the means to hire a private attorney. I don’t want to get on my soapbox, but as I got older, I became more disturbed by our criminal justice system and more determined to work to change it. I’d like to see the U.S. move to a system where people who commit a crime are not branded for life and can truly receive a second chance once they have served their time.

3. Why did you choose your law school?

I was originally interested in WashU law because I am from the area and it has a strong reputation both locally and nationally. I was fortunate to receive a scholarship that covers the majority of my tuition, and the cost, combined with the friendly admissions staff and faculty and the various presentations at Admitted Students Weekend really sold me. It was a tough decision, as I am looking to move to Houston after graduation, but I really wanted to keep costs down as much as possible and I had a gut feeling that I would be happy here.

4. What is one thing you wish you knew about law school or the admissions process ahead of time?

I wish I had known how difficult it can be to target a market that is so far away from your school. A lot of firms I was interested in did not travel to St. Louis for our OCI, and I was worried about having to send my resume to recruiting contacts and hope my resume stood out somehow. It worked out for me and I have loved my time here, but I might have gone to school in Texas had I known that staying in state would have provided me with the opportunity to be in the room with a lot of employers that I simply didn’t have going to school far away.

5. What student organizations or activities are you involved in?

I’m involved with Phi Alpha Delta, Women’s Law Caucus, and I am an Admissions Ambassador.

6. Discuss any exciting jobs or internships you’ve had while in law school.

Last summer, I was a summer associate at Jones Day in Houston. I really enjoyed it, but ultimately, I decided that I wanted to work at a firm that is headquartered in Houston. I’m really excited to work at Bracewell’s Houston office this coming summer.

7. What do you like to do in your spare time?

In my free time, I enjoy running, softball, watching baseball, and spending time with my boyfriend, family, and friends. I also have a two year old maltese poodle who I absolutely adore. We spend time at the dog park and she comes on runs with me.

8. What is your dream career?

I am still interested in ultimately working in criminal defense. I’m really not sure what that will entail yet, but I’m definitely more interested in private practice (as opposed to working in the public sector). I am also interested in immigration law, and there is ample opportunity to help immigrants and people seeking asylum in Houston. Ultimately, I genuinely want to help those who are not as fortunate as I am, and I’m excited to explore different options as I develop in my career.